top of page

Jemma's Story

In the second of my blog posts about my two returning models, we are turning our attention to the beautiful Jemma.

I photographed Jemma in the spring of 2015. I actually got booked for this through an advert on Facebook looking for a photographer with a background in fitness. I had only been freelance a short time and was really excited to get this job.

It is just over a week until Jemma's follow up shoot. This time we are going for a much more sexy, edgy and provocative than last time but still focusing on Jem's amazing physique.

Here is what she had to say about her shoot prep

"Having never stood in front of a professional camera lens the thought was daunting to say the least. However from my first ever contact with James I knew it was going to be a fantastic experience. After asking a few questions regarding the types of shots I was after James seemed to really understand the look I was going for. He put my mind at rest immediately and helped to organise hair and make-up for the day. We collectively put together a ‘mood board’, outlining the style of the shoot and, right from the off his ideas were edgy and very contemporary. After settling on a day, time and venue for the shoot the stage was set, the rest was down to me to prep for it was well as possible.

In the weeks leading up to the shoot I trained hard and kept my nutrition as on point as I could. However this wasn’t like prepping for a physique comp so don’t be thinking that in order to have a shoot you have look stage ready- not the case- at least not in mine! On James’ recommendation I got a spray tan to accentuate any muscle definition. I trawled through endless back catalogues of ‘Womens Health’ looking at poses and trying to replicate them in the mirror ( much to the entertainment of my son!)

On the day, to say I was nervous would be a massive understatement, however on meeting James in person I was instantly put at ease. Laura Whitely was doing my make-up on the day and what that girl can’t do with make-up just isn’t worth doing, a true artist. On discussion with her she told me she had been doing loads of research into how to get the ‘sweaty look’ without actually getting hot, after all I didn’t want to ruin my mascara! Right then I knew that she was taking this as seriously as I was. She was on hand throughout the shoot for any touch-ups which was wonderful, she effortlessly reapplied lip-gloss and ‘ beads of sweat!’

We had use of a studio room in a gym and so it began….. I really didn’t know what to do I felt wooden and awkward for the first few frames. However James was confident and took the lead telling me how and where to stand which direction to look etc etc. The shoot moved quickly from different poses never staying on one thing for too long. It was great watching James work behind the camera, you could see his mind was whirring away, thinking about what poses, background, props he could use to get the best angle and lighting. A couple of times I thought ‘ that’s never not going to look good, only to be proved totally wrong a few moments later when he showed me the result’ from then on I trusted him fully!

After a while I relaxed into the shoot and I let my inner diva shine through my confidence grew and grew, James was as excited as I was about the pictures and I was gutted when the shoot was over I could have gone on all day!

The very next day James sent over some of the edited shots……. they were amazing!!! I was and am still so thrilled with the results. However I just have to remind myself sometimes that I don’t look like that everyday!!!

So now I’m preparing for another shoot with the gorgeous James, and I can’t wait, I’m still apprehensive but not nervous at all, more excited. Again we have put together and awesome mood board and come up with ( what I think) are some really edgy ideas and I am so excited to see the end result. Again I’m training as hard as I can and trying to keep nutrition on point however with numerous birthday celebrations in the last week it’s been a struggle!

James is a true artist and watching his own style and creativity develop through all is pics is wonderful. Be in no doubt that if you decide to have a photo shoot with him, you will be in the best possible hands, he will look after you, help you , guide you and very importantly make you look the hottest you ever have!!!"

Jemma's shoot this time around has been inspired by the Abby Clance/Gwynth Paltrow spreads in Women's Health UK.

To see how we get on, stay tuned on here and on our social media feeds

@dillingerphotography & @train_like_a_mum on Instagram

Peace Out

DP

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page